In February I had the fantastic opportunity to travel to Florida to meet some wonderful ladies and to take some valuable sewing courses. And – I also had a ton of fun!

I went to a three day sewing retreat held at a lakeside fellowship camp near Ocala, Florida. Arriving in Orlando, I was picked up by my good friend Nancy who has traveled with me many times before. We then joined several other sewing friends who had never been to a retreat like this one.

There were several nationally known sewing experts at the retreat. Nancy Zieman opened the retreat with a morning long session about her work and career. Stephanie Kimura taught the making of a hip bag and also provided an evening seminar showing the progression of her projects during her career.

my Bamboo Goddess Hip Bag

Paula Scaffidi. led us in the creation of an incredible four-sided vessel project which can be seen on this page on her website. Emily Carter led the group in creating a velvet and silk shawl using the serger.

